FAQ

Toutes les questions/réponses sur notre marque, sur le soja et les produits Sojasun.

Send your questions to our customer service department

1. Do Sojasun products contain lactose?

 

Every product in the Sojasun drinks and desserts range is completely plant-based, and therefore naturally lactose-free. A great source of protein and calcium, Sojasun drinks and desserts provide a real alternative to dairy products for people who are lactose intolerant.

Our range of Steaks, Burgers, Meat-Free Mince and ready-meals (Chili, Provençale and Couscous) are completely plant-based, so are also lactose free.
A small exception to the rule: two of our ready-meals are enriched with a touch of milk and cheese. Our Parmentier and Lasagne dishes contain a small quantity of lactose.

2. Do Sojasun products contain gluten?

 

We are well aware of the health risk that gluten can cause for people with intolerance. This is why we developed a stringent food hazard control policy several years ago to help us further reduce risk. We ask our suppliers for a renewed guarantee that their products do not contain traces of gluten.

- "Unflavoured" and all “Fruit” specialties, except “Muesli & Fruits” (in the yoghurt aisle)
- Desserts: Vanilla, Caramel, Chocolate, Coffee and Almond-Hazelnut, Mint Chocolate, Coconut Chocolate
- Culinary ingredients: The Sojasun UHT fluid cooking specialty (in the UHT cream aisle), Meat-Free Mince (in the ready-meal aisle)
- Drinks: Nature, Calcium, Vanilla, Chocolate (in the UHT drinks aisle)
- Soy steaks: all 6 varieties, in the fresh delicatessen aisle
- Ready-meals: Chili, in the ready-meal aisle.

The products which contain gluten are: the Muesli and Fruit dessert, the Tomato, Basil and Curry burgers, the Provençale, Couscous, Lasagne and Parmentier ready-meals.

For the wheat fibre present in the list of ingredients in some of our products, these are “guaranteed gluten free”. These fibres are completely separated from the wheat protein, which is the source of gluten.

3. What is the origin of the flavourings used in Sojasun products?

 

Here at Sojasun, we don’t use artificial flavourings when we manufacture our products. We only use natural flavourings, or flavourings identical to those found in nature.
We are constantly working to improve our products. This is why we are gradually replacing the flavourings identical to those in nature with truly natural flavourings, and we are eliminating preservatives from our recipes.
Thanks to these policies, most of our ingredients are completely free from any artificial ingredients, with the exception of a small group of products (pear-almond, muesli and fruits, vanilla and hazelnut-almond desserts and our chocolate drink).

4. Is the calcium in Sojasun products the same as the calcium found in dairy products?

 

Sojasun desserts and drinks are enriched with calcium, providing a minimum of 120mg per 100g, or 15% of the recommended daily allowance for adults (RDA = 800mg/day). This is a similar level as that found in dairy products (yoghurts and milk). Some of our products have an even greater calcium content: the Sojasun Calcium drink contains 144mg of calcium per 100ml, providing 1/3 of your RDA with a 200ml bowl.

Soy products are naturally low in calcium. The calcium which we use to enrich our products is calcium phosphate. This is a mineral source of calcium, whose bioavailability (its absorption capacity) is equivalent to the calcium found in milk.

5. Are Sojasun products fermented?

 

All of our unflavoured and Fruit-flavoured specialties are manufactured using a fermentation process which is equivalent to that used to make yoghurt. The other products in the Sojasun range do not undergo fermentation.

People sometimes say that you shouldn’t eat unfermented soy. While it is true that raw soy contains antitrypsic factors and phytates, which are considered “anti-nutritional” and limit the absorption of certain nutrients, you should be aware that the manufacturing processes used in all of our products eliminate these elements, through skinning, soaking and cooking.

6. Where do the cultures used in Sojasun's desserts come from?

 

Our Sojasun desserts contain no animal-derived ingredients. The ferments used to make our Ultra-Fresh products are micro-organisms; this means that they are neither plant nor animal. These cultures have been carefully selected for their ability to ferment soy. They give our products their texture, creaminess and mild taste.

The ferments we use do not contain any milk. These are known as “lactic” ferments because they can be used to culture milk, but they can also ferment other ingredients such as sauerkraut, buttermilk, soy sauce and more.

7. Are soy products made from beansprouts?

 

The "soybean sprouts" that you find in Asian cooking are actually mung beans, which are completely different from the yellow soy beans used to make Sojasun products.  These are two completely different species which do not have the same nutritional properties.  Bean sprouts (mung beans) contain a lot of water and not many nutrients, while the yellow soy used by Sojasun is extremely rich in nutrients, and especially protein.  This is why we use it!

8. What are carrageenan and guar bean doing on the ingredients list of some Sojasun products? Are they natural?

 

These are thickeners which we use in our non-fermented desserts (Chocolate, Vanilla, Coffee, etc.). They are used to provide texture.

Guar gum is extracted from an Indian (Cyamopsis tetragonolobus L. Taub) legume which is grown in subtropical climates. Carrageenan is also a naturally derived thickener: it is made from red seaweed.

Of course, both of these natural additives have undergone approval and authorization. To obtain this authorization, the company requesting it must prove that the additive is technically necessary for the product and will pose no danger to human health. It is only once this scientific evaluation is complete that additives receive EU approval.

9. Where does the soy used in Sojasun products come from?

 

The soy beans used to manufacture Sojasun products are grown in central, southwest and southeast France. By keeping our suppliers close by, we have better control over the quality of our supplies and we can also reduce the environmental impact caused by transport.

We maintain very close relationships with our soy bean suppliers.
Our farmers are committed to pursuing a GMO-free policy, and also to using environmentally friendly agricultural practices.

Our beans are also processed in France. All of our Sojasun products are made in Brittany, near Rennes.

10. Is the soy used to make Sojasun products genetically modified?

 

Since 1995, we have implemented a special supply chain for our soy beans and analyses at every stage of production to ensure that there are no GMOs in our Sojasun products.  This system has been approved by a reputed international external and independent auditing company (SGS).  On Sojasun packaging, you can see the “made from GMO-free French soy” logo.  This is here to reassure our customers of our promise.

11. What does the n°6 on the Sojasun dessert pots mean? Does this plastic contain bisphenol A or phthalates?

 

Our packaging is made from polystyrene (PS) and contains neither bisphenol A nor phthalates.  We have written certifications from our plastic suppliers which enable us to guarantee this.

12. "I have high cholesterol. Can I still eat Sojasun products?"

 

Sojasun products are recommended for you, as they contain low levels of fat, and extremely low levels of saturated fat.  People are recommended to reduce their consumption of saturated fats in order to maintain a normal level of cholesterol.

13. Are soy products suitable for children?

 

Soy is a food which has not yet been fully integrated into our culture and dietary habits.  It is understandable and natural to ask whether it is suitable for children.  Pediatricians and specialists both agree that from one year old, soy-based foods can be progressively introduced to your child’s diet as he or she learns to eat other foods, in the same way as any other type of food.  And because it provides high-quality protein and little saturated fat, it is perfectly suited to be part of a healthy balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle.

14. Is it true that soy contains hormones?

 

Soy beans, like other plants (such as chickpeas and lentils), naturally contain substances known as isoflavones.  These isoflavones are anti-oxidants with different properties, such as the various polyphenols which we consume every day in our fruit and vegetables.  Isoflavones can resemble certain female hormones, provoking slight hormonal activity in the body.  However, normal consumption of soy-based products as part of a varied and balanced diet will have no impact on your hormonal activity.  Moreover, it has been recognized that the consumption of 1 to 3 soy-based products per day can provide real health benefits.

15. Can I eat soy when pregnant or breast-feeding?

 

Except for some very specific health situations, there is no recommendation against consuming soy-based products while pregnant or breast-feeding, as long as you follow the rules for a healthy balanced diet: eat a wide range of products and do not eat just one category of products.  For personalized advice, you should consult your doctor.  He or she will give you dietary and nutritional advice adapted to your specific needs.

 

Epidemiological studies have shown that Asian women (whose diet is traditionally high in soy) suffer less from the hot flushes associated with menopause than Western women. Several studies have focused on the effect of soy, and especially of the isoflavones contained within it, on these symptoms (isoflavones are polyphenols, natural anti-oxidants contained in soy which display a very low level of hormonal activity).

The potential effect of soy isoflavones on menopausal symptoms, and in particular the frequency and severity of hot flushes, has been the subject of a number of studies. The results of these studies have been contradictory; some show a beneficial effect to these isoflavones while others show no effect at all. The general view of these studies is that this symptom is particularly sensitive to the placebo effect and that isoflavones contribute a modest additional effect, but only in some women. As a result, only certain menopausal women “respond” positively to soy isoflavones, and it appears that the quantity of isoflavones necessary varies according to the person.

As a result, it is difficult to say, in light of our current scientific understanding, that soy has a positive effect on the hot flushes associated with the menopause, especially as the levels of isoflavones in food products is low (around 8mg/100g in desserts and 13mg/100ml in drinks) compared to the “menopause” dietary supplements which are based on concentrated isoflavone extracts (70 to 100mg/daily dose).

Soy-based foods are made to be part of a normal diet, and do not pretend to have any health benefit other than a good nutritional contribution to a balanced diet, thanks to their low lipid and saturated fat content and their high levels of high-quality plant-based protein.

17. "My child is allergic to the proteins in cow's milk. Can he consume soy-based products?"

 

As your child has a proven allergy, we recommend consulting with your pediatrician in order to verify whether or not he has a soy allergy as well.
Sojasun products have not been formulated to meet the specific nutritional needs of children under a year old. On the other hand, they are perfectly suited to become part of a balanced diet and healthy lifestyle. The rules are the same as for other food products: introduce it progressively into your child’s diet and expose him or her to the widest possible range of foods. As your child has an allergy, dietary diversification recommended by your pediatrician will probably happen more slowly, and certainly more carefully. As with all foods, soy-based products must be introduced slowly into your child’s diet. As such, we recommend consulting your pediatrician. He or she will be your main advisor about how and when to introduce Sojasun products into your child’s diet.

18. "I have trouble digesting dairy products. Can I eat soy products?"

 

Sojasun desserts and drinks do not contain lactose and as such are more easily tolerated by those who have problems digesting lactose.  In fact, intolerance to dairy products is fairly common among adults as the body’s lactase, the enzyme capable of digesting lactose, diminishes with age.  This can often mean digestive problems: bloating, intestinal pain, diarrhoea etc.  If you are lactose intolerant, you can effectively replace the dairy products which are causing you problems with Sojasun desserts and drinks.  What’s more, these products are enriched with calcium, providing you with the same calcium intake as equivalent dairy products.

19. How many soy products can I consume per day?

 

As with all food products, the consumption of soy is beneficial to your diet as long as it is balanced. The key is to eat a wide range of foods, without excluding foods and without consuming just one category of food.

In general, Sojasun products offer several interesting nutritional benefits: they provide high quality plant-based protein, they do not contain lactose and only contain very low levels of saturated fat (helping you maintain a healthy level of cholesterol) alongside a good quantity of unsaturated fats (including omega 3). What’s more, Sojasun drinks and desserts are enriched with calcium at levels equivalent to that of similar dairy products. These are why soy-based foods are considered highly nutritious foods. And as the key to a healthy lifestyle is dietary diversity, soy products can play a key role.

For an adult in good health, it is perfectly healthy to consume a balanced quantity of soy products, which generally works out as 2 to 3 Sojasun products per day.

20. Are Sojasun products suitable for people with diabetes?

 

If you are a non-insulin dependent diabetic and you eat soy, then the advice which your doctor would probably give you is to ensure that you maintain a regular intake in order to reduce glycemic fluctuations, and maintain a healthy balanced diet. It is generally recommended that you adopt a normo-glucidic diet, low-calorie if you are overweight, and limit your intake of sugar (your doctor has undoubtedly advised you to reduce your intake of added sugar or sucrose).

In our range of drinks and desserts, only the unflavoured Sojasun desserts and drinks do not contain added sugar, so have a naturally low sugar content (0.7g of sugar per pot for the dessert and 0.4g per 100ml for the drink). The Sojasun Fruit specialties contain added sugar, containing on average 10g of sugar per 100g pot.

If you wish to obtain further information, please consult your doctor.

21. How should I store my Sojasun steaks before eating them?

 

Sojasun soy steaks are fresh products which must be stored in the refrigerator (between +2°C and +6°C), and should be eaten before the use-by date printed on the packaging.

22. Can I cook with Sojasun desserts and drinks?

 

Sojasun desserts and drinks can be used in your cooking in the same way as you would use yoghurt or milk.  The unflavoured Sojasun Nature dessert is perfect for preparing light sauces, making a more plant-based “yoghurt-pot” cake, and much more.  The unflavoured, Calcium and Vanilla drinks can be heated before being drunk, and can also be used in all sorts of sweet and savoury preparations as an alternative to milk (pancake batter, quiches, gratins, etc.).  For more ideas and recipes, go to our recipe page.

23. Can I freeze Sojasun ready-meals?

 

Our savoury range of Sojasun products, such as soy steaks, ready-meals and Meat-Free Mince, can certainly be frozen.  However, in order to maintain the texture and flavour of the product, we recommend that you do not keep them for too long in the freezer.

Send your questions to our customer service department